top of page

Slight Risk for Severe Weather Posted For All of Southern Indiana Friday

The work week is going to end out very soggy as thunderstorms will be moving in later tonight and sticking around through much of the day Friday. In addition to the rain it will be windy with winds gusting 20-30mph up to 50mph or greater at times.


Due to the high winds the National Weather Service has issued a Wind Advisory for all of Southern Indiana that will begin starting at 6am CST./7am EST. Friday morning.


Aside from wind we also have a severe weather component to Friday's storm chance. The elevated winds will be playing a huge factor as that will provide the greatest support for severe weather out of all the other ingredients that make up the severe weather. Currently, the Storm Prediction Center has a slight risk for severe weather posted for all of Southern Indiana.


Main Risks

- Damaging Winds

-Tornadoes

-Flash Flooding


Timing

A line Storms will begin firing up after 9pm CST./10pm EST. in the Western half of Southern Indiana and will be moving Eastward throughout the overnight and into Friday. This initial round of storms is not expected to be severe.


There will then be a small break in the line after about 6am CST./7am EST. before a few showers ahead of the more organized line of storms arrives by midday.


By 11am CST./12am EST. the organized line of storms will move into the Western half of Southern Indiana. This is the line that is capable of producing severe storms. This line will be moving quickly to the East as it's expected to out of Southern Indiana by 3pm CST./4pm EST.


Flood Watch

As mentioned in the Main Risks above there's the possibility of Flash Flooding. Given that the National Weather Service has issued a Flood Watch for all of Southern Indiana through 3am CST./4am EST. Saturday. Heavy downpours will be likely in the incoming storms resulting in flood conditions with rain totals of 2-3 inches being possible. Avoid flooded roadways at all cost! Turn Around, Don't Drown!


My Thoughts

Given that these storms will be moving quickly and the increased amount of wind energy it won't take much for these storms to become strong quickly. I wouldn't be surprised to see either a Severe T'Storm Watch or Tornado Watch issued sometime early tomorrow morning. Do note this is not expected to be a severe weather outbreak by any stretch we certainly need to be prepared as things may unfold quickly.


Looking Ahead

It will be much quieter over the weekend with dry weather returning and a mix of sun and clouds. Temperatures will be notably cooler at the start of the weekend with nighttime lows in the 30s Friday and Saturday Night. On the brighter note we will be back in the low 60s on Sunday.


Next week will start out dry with maybe a few showers late Monday evening. Highs around 72 degrees. Tuesday will be slightly cooler in the upper 50s but dry with mostly cloudy skies.


A few more showers possible Wednesday and Thursday the chances look small though at this point. Temperatures by the middle of the week are expected to drop with highs in upper 40s on Thursday before bottoming out in the middle 30s Thursday night.


Stay safe and weather aware Friday! Keep it with JCTV Weather Center for further weather updates!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rainy Weather On The Way - Tuesday Weather Story

Tuesday is off to a dry start under mostly cloudy skies. Most of the day will be dry up until about dinner time and then rain will begin to move into Southern Indiana. This will be a widespread rain e

Happy First Day of Spring - Monday Weather Story

Happy first day of Spring! Spring Equinox officially takes place today at 4:24pm CST./5:24pm EST. Certainly good news after a very chilly weekend! Temperatures are expected to climb this week. Today w

Comments


bottom of page