top of page

Severe weather possible tonight

The Storm Prediction Center has almost all of Southern Indiana in a Slight Risk for severe weather for this evening into the overnight.


As it stands this morning models have storms firing up as early as 4pm CDT./5pm EDT. and as late as 7pm CDT./8pm EDT. It's looking like storms will end after 12am CDT. but some models are indicating storms could last through 2am CDT./3am EDT. primarily in Southwestern Southern Indiana.


Damaging winds and hail would be the main threats. Flash flooding is small with rain totals ranging about an inch maybe an isolated 2 inches where heavy downpours take place. So I'd say the flood risk would be pretty isolated mainly the areas that flood easily (e.g. low-lying land). As for the Tornado threat it's also low but certainly not zero in fact the Storm Prediction Center does have Southern Indiana in 5% risk for tornado's. Still low but something to watch out for.


Overall, with the good chance of seeing sunlight and warm temperatures today, that combined will destabilize the atmosphere giving fuel for the storms to work off of which would likely increase the chance for severe storms.


I'll have updates as necessary! Stay safe & weather aware!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rainy Weather On The Way - Tuesday Weather Story

Tuesday is off to a dry start under mostly cloudy skies. Most of the day will be dry up until about dinner time and then rain will begin to move into Southern Indiana. This will be a widespread rain e

Happy First Day of Spring - Monday Weather Story

Happy first day of Spring! Spring Equinox officially takes place today at 4:24pm CST./5:24pm EST. Certainly good news after a very chilly weekend! Temperatures are expected to climb this week. Today w

Comments


bottom of page