Severe Weather Possible This Afternoon and Evening

The Storm Prediction Center has a Slight Risk posted for the very Northwestern edge of Southern Indiana. Additionally, a Marginal Risk covers areas along and west of Interstate 65.

The main threat is damaging winds with a small risk risk of an isolated tornado. Best Setup for severe weather will likely be in Illinois where storms will be closest to the area of low pressure which will help fuel the the severe weather threat. As for Southern Indiana the storms may hold together long enough as they exit Illinois and enter into Southwest Southern Indiana that a few severe storms may be able to fire up. No widespread severe weather is expected.


Timing:

We may see a few showers ahead of the main line of storms around 1pm CDT./2pm EDT. The main line looks to arrive in Southwestern Indiana between 3 and 4pm CDT./4 and 5pm EDT. The storms will then progress Eastward likely breaking apart causing storms to weaken and will likely mitigate the threat for severe storms for Central and Eastern portions of Southern Indiana.


Overall, while the potential for severe weather is possible it doesn’t look overly concerning but something to keep an eye on! I’ll have updates as necessary!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All