Severe Storms Likely This Afternoon

Updated: Apr 25, 2020

The Storm Prediction Center currently has all of Southern Indiana under a slight risk for severe storms as well as areas along and south of interstate 64 under an enhanced risk.


Below is the severe weather outlook from the Storm Prediction Center outlining the different risk categories (e.g marginal, slight, etc.)

Main Risks

Damaging Winds

Large Hail

Tornados (This threat is greater in the enhanced risk zone with lower threat in the slight and marginal zones overall the threat is not zero by any means)

Minor flooding possible mostly south of the Ohio River would be my greater concern as totals look to reach near 2 inches of rain.


Timing

Storms entering western portions of Southern Indiana just after 1pm CDT./2pm EDT. and storms exiting Southern Indiana by 1am CDT./2am EDT. Friday morning.


Tornado WATCH

Currently the National Weather Service has issued a Tornado WATCH for the counties of Gibson, Pike, Spencer, Vanderburgh and Warwick counties until 5pm CDT.


REMINDER - A WATCH means conditions are favorable for Tornados and to be prepared in the event that a WARNING is issued for your area.


Overall stay weather aware this afternoon and through the overnight and I will be posting updates and severe weather alerts on the JCTV Weather Center Facebook page as needed.


Be safe and keep it here with the JCTV Weather Center for more updates!













20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All