top of page

Dangerous Winter Storm Expected To Start Thursday Afternoon

The National Weather Service has upgraded over half of Southern Indiana to a Winter Storm Warning which means winter weather is expected. Rain showers will begin transitioning to a rain/snow mix this afternoon before becoming all snow. A flash freeze is likely as a result of temperatures crashing from the 40s to the single digits to near sub-zero. Snow accumulation is expected ranging from 2-4 inches area wide with locally higher amounts where snow squalls or bursts of heavy snow form. The change over to wintry precipitation is expected in Western Southern Indiana after 2pm CST./3pm EST. and closer to 5pm CST./6pm EST. in Central Southern Indiana and around 7pm CST./8pm EST. in Eastern Southern Indiana.


Aside from the snow is dangerously cold temperatures. Tonight's low is -4 degrees with wind chill values ranging from -25 to -30 degrees. If you can avoid being outdoors that's probably your best bet, but if you must venture out wear plenty of layers. Reminder in temperatures like these frost bite can occur in less than 30 minutes. There will also be high winds of 25-30mph gusting to 40mph. Due to the extreme cold the National Weather Service has placed over half of Southern Indiana in a Wind Chill Warning.


Overall, use extreme caution if you must travel or venture outdoors during the course of this winter weather event! Stay Warm & Safe!


The closings and delays list is currently active with a number of businesses, churches, and schools see it here - https://www.jctvweathercenter.com/closings


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page